Nashville in a Nutshell

  • Nashville is the thriving and diverse capital city of Tennessee, located on the Cumberland River, in Davidson County, in the north-central part of the state.
  • In 2016, the population of Nashville-Davidson County was over 670,000 making it the largest city in the state.  The population of the wider 14-county metropolitan area was over 1.83 million.  Nashville is the 36th largest  MSA (metropolitan statistical area) in the United States.
  • 3 major Interstate Highways converge in Nashville: I-65, I-40 and I-24.
  • Nashville is a major hub for the health care, music, publishing, banking, insurance, and transportation industries.
  • Nashville is home to 18 nationally respected colleges and universities, including Vanderbilt and Belmont.
  • There is no state income tax in Tennessee.
  • Nashville boasts an international airport; more parks per person than any other city; and a number of professional sports teams: including the Tennessee Titans of the NFL and the Nashville Predators of the NHL.

Learn more about Nashville and Surrounding Areas